top of page

Tribal Gathering

Updated: Dec 14, 2022



Funny really, I used to think that riding a bike or going for a run was what made me happy.

At times I’ve enjoyed the performance elements: pushing myself; getting faster; and gaining those elusive minutes.

Recently though, I’ve started to shift my focus. I think it’s the people that I enjoy being with, the tribe, my friends. It’s our shared experiences both inside and also outside of running and riding.

By that I mean, I enjoy riding my bike with you. I enjoy our shared experience battling the fatigue, the elements, the distance. But at the same time I also enjoy not talking about riding my bike while we ride bikes. Our shared passion for our sport is just a way for us to connect at a deeper level (or not)!


Close relationships, more than money or fame, are what keep people happy throughout their lives. Social connections are really good for us.

Small talk is good for us, being meaningless in our conversations is a way to open up. That’s why we like to talk gears, wheels, heel to toe drop, heart rate. It’s our way of connecting without opening up too much. That’s why we show up, even when it’s wet and windy, when we know we might get dropped, when we are injured and can't run. We turn up to connect, to support, to lean in to our relationships.

So I hope to see you on Saturday morning mixing with your tribe. Even if you can't run or ride, it’s time for a coffee and a chat amongst friends.



"There isn't time, so brief is life, for bickerings, apologies, heartburnings, callings to account. There is only time for loving, and but an instant, so to speak, for that.”

Mark Twain







109 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page